BANTU KNOTS X SUNDAY VIBES

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18231517/?claim=mqm8evr69km“>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

“Sunday is the golden clasp that binds together the volume of the week.”

  • Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

 

Hello everyone!

A happy Sunday to you. Try to live life to the fullest and appreciate God for everything. Can’t believe we are already in September. Almost like yesterday was January. And finally my Bantu knots.

I’ve been fussing about Bantu knots since they came back trendy in 2015. I didn’t know how to do it. Browsed about how to do it and I saw some step by step procedure on how to do it but I still didn’t allow myself to do it lest I do something that one cannot identify as bantu knots. The struggle was real. Thank God for my mom. She’s like a jack of many trades and master at many. I just explained it to her once and she got it, even better than I imagined. We didn’t even go through trial and error. I was expecting us to stay there for like an hour and keep trying and loosing, and trying again, with me also trying to explain to mom over and over again. But at the same time, I had faith in my mom to do a good job. Thanks mom!

IMG-20160905-WA009

Now I have my Bantu knots. They are tiny though. I saw on the net that the bigger they are, the looser yours curls are when you do the knot out. So I decided to do tiny ones because my virgin hair is short mid-length (hopefully) and I thought a curly afro would look good on me when I do the knot out.

We couldn’t take pictures of the steps but I decided to write them down. Hopefully, you’ll understand.

STEPS

  1. Wash the hair. Try to ensure that your scalp is sparkling. So it looks neat when sectioned/parted.
  2. Use a rinse-out or leave-in conditioner. I used a rinse-out conditioner for mine.
  3. Dry your hair till its damp. Not soaking wet.
  4. Detangle the hair if necessary.
  5. Section/part the hair. Into triangular, pentagonal, diamond, or square shaped sections.
  6. Take a sectioned part and apply moisturizer and if available a curl cream. I didn’t have a curl cream co I didn’t use any. You can decide to add your leave-in conditioner at this point.
  7. Roll or twist the hair. Not take it round. It’s just like twisting something with your fingertips.
  8. Holding the base/down side with your finger, wrap or take the hair round and round until it gets to the end.
  9. You can hold with a bobby pin or any pin. I used small black rubber bands to hold.
  10. Do for all sectioned parts
  11. Your Bantu knots are done.

IMG-20160905-WA012

I decided to go for triangular partings cos I thought it would be a bit funkier.

Don’t worry. You guys are going to be with me through my Bantu knot journey. On my subsequent posts, I’m going to show you guys what my knot out looked like (can’t wait to see it myself).

My mom did well on a first try. You have to agree.

IMG-20160905-WA014

IMG-20160905-WA015
Lol, I look like one village girl. I like the picture though, it has an art to it.

On my way to my Sunday fellowship as I flaunt my Bantu knots.

IMG-20160905-WA017

And my loyal Movado Swiss wrist watch.

IMG-20160905-WA018

Thank you.

Ps – I’m pretty sure you all noticed this post was supposed to be a Sunday post. Well, that’s true. I’m sorry it came this late though, it’s due to me being busy plus other technicalities. Forgive me eh

I’d love to read your comments, don’t forget to subscribe also :*

XO

girleccentric

16 thoughts on “BANTU KNOTS X SUNDAY VIBES

    1. Kachee..thanks for viewing my blog. I heard law school is hard o. . I decided not to be negative. But when I get there, good thing I have y’all to guide me through. So don’t be surprised when you see some law problems and questions on the blog. 😀
      Thanks for the wishes and please do. I’ll want to see your bantu knots.

      Like

Leave a Reply

