ON BEING A LONE RANGER…

“Stand up for something, even if it means standing alone. Because often times, the one who flys solo has the strongest wings.”

– unknown

How you doing?

I’m going to get a bit personal on the blog. Get some of you to know me a little.

I just want to take a moment first of all, to congratulate Hillary Clinton. I was one of those that stayed up late to watch the election. Maybe it is not yet time for a woman to take the seat, but what she did, needs to be replicated in Nigeria but this time, with success. We need to show that we can also put up a strong front. We don’t just belong to “the kitchen, the living room and the other room”, we belong out there in the political, economic and financial front, and also, every other aspect of life. Maybe the success God wanted to achieve with her wasn’t that of the election, but of proving to women that even in a strong country like America, a woman still has a chance at being at the top. Because success depends on how you define it.

Just like Hillary said in her concession speech, as women, always make sure your voice is heard, no matter what seems negative, always point to the positive. You might fail at times but “fighting for what’s right is worth it”. Barack said that he also lost some elections, as well as the Vice President, but he ended up being the President for two terms. It was like success at last, because every failed attempt is one step closer to success.

Donald Trump was also a strong candidate and I pray God grants him the enablement to lead America well because in all “we are still on the same team”(Obama’s words)…all we want is success. So whoever God uses to accomplish that, so be it. I guess America has a lot of issues to solve, things they ignored and pretended never existed. It’s no more a fight between two candidates, it’s a fight between mindsets, principles, ideals, histories, everything that we didn’t pay attention to (well that’s my opinion). And I just want to say also that Hillary Clinton has one of the prettiest and cutest smiles I’ve ever seen.

Back to the post.

The way black says “I don’t bother you, don’t bother me.” I also say ” I don’t bother you, don’t bother me”, except I want you to bother me because sometimes we women like to be bothered by some specific persons.. *side eye*.

I keep my inner circle very tight and small. I kind of like to talk to people but sometimes I don’t like to do it face to face. I just want you to hear my voice or know my thoughts, without seeing my face sometimes.

img-20161109-wa008

That’s why I write. Here on the blog and also my own writing career. I plan on writing a book soon, as soon as I can get my mind focused on one thing. I so much agree with John Green (author of The Fault In Our Stars)

“writing is something you do alone. It’s a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it.”

– John Green

Don’t get me wrong, I am not an introvert. I am very much an extrovert, especially when you catch me on one of my very hyper moods where at that point, I just want to make friends with any and everybody, go to all the parties in town and rant on and on about what one may see as rubbish but actually makes sense in my head. Though outside the mood, I like to see myself as an out-spoken out-going introvert. If there’s anything like that. I don’t like to go for all those parties, when I go, I don’t do anything but sit and look. I don’t like the loud music and noise, the smell of ‘humanity’…if you understand what I’m talking about… But I like very formal occasions like conferences, dinners, receptions, meetings and stuffs that need you in a cocktail dress with a glass in your hands, a clutch, and stunning heels .

One principle I’ve kept- “Familiarity brings insult.”

Something my mom told me sometime ago and I kept that. It’s only those that know you very well, your ups, your downs, secrets and regrets, that would know how to hurt you so bad. So I also advice people to take this up too as a principle. Be very discreet about who you expose your life and real self to. If you allow any type of person into your personal life, you allow the good, the bad, the ugly, then get ready, one day you do something to hurt them, all your secrets would come flying out in the open.

 

“you don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices”

– Augustus Waters

The Fault In Our Stars

John Green

 

They talk about rumours. Why should you bother yourself about false rumours. People love to talk, so they must find something to talk about. True or false. Those who know you won’t believe it. Those who care to know will ask you. And the rest that believe, just don’t care. Except you are running for a political office, then I don’t see why you should beat yourself over false rumours. As long as human beings are still human beings, messed up things are going to be said about you. Some things that you could never think of.

I’m not asking you to be lonely, I’m telling you not to be afraid to stand alone. There’s a very clear difference, because sooner or later you’re going to need that skill – there are some foods that require just one cook. You might be with friends most times but you are always with you everytime. One important reason why you should love yourself. You can’t run away from you. You are you. Trying to run away from you is just going to be you tearing yourself apart. It will hurt, but this time, it will be you hurting you.

img-20161109-wa010

img-20161109-wa011

img-20161109-wa012

img-20161109-wa013

img-20161109-wa014

img-20161109-wa016

I guess that’s it for now. You can say my look was more of me this time. Black and grey socks in my NINE WEST ankle strap heels, with a random grey graphic tee and leggins, and this lovely black jacket I got a while ago. And hewo! We have entered harmattan season here…with the cold harsh air making breathing painful sometimes. I tell people we don’t just have 2 seasons in Nigeria, I mean, who created that rule? We dont have just dry and rainy season, we have dry heat season, rainy season, and harmattan season. Who agrees with me?

img-20161109-wa018

If you’ve noticed, I haven’t put a personal style post for a while because my photographer, who is also elder brother went back to school. So I decided to tried taking the shots myself. How did I do? I guess all my pics were from one angle.

I was restricted within the confinement of my house cos we know how Nigerians like to look. While some are wondering why you are posing for an invisible photographer, others are planning on how to shift your camera. I’m sure some of you understand.

O….and how did I do in my socks in heels look? Wumituase has been slaying this look and I thought “when will it be my tuuurrrrnnnn!*sobs*?”

*dries tears…very false ones…*

*proceeds to continue writing*

I know I’ve been kind of inactive, not on the blog, in relating with y’all. Both on your blogs, instagram, google+, other media platforms, even on my whatsapp….you can imagine. And I still don’t know what’s up with my bloglovin. So sorry about that but I love y’all…your blogs, your likes, your follows, your comments, your views, and even criticisms. Thank you all.

Leave a comment in the comment box below.

Love.

X

 

27 thoughts on “ON BEING A LONE RANGER…

  1. I agree completely with your thoughts on the elections. And you are so right about the familiarity thing. These days I’m really careful with what I say to people around me. You never know what they can use as ammunition against you. Love your jacket! xx

    cocobellablog.com

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I won’t say even as a man… because to somebody of my belief it means nothing… but gender-regardless.. my cap goes to Hilary, she proved a woman is just as awesome as a man… and you really did well. in taking pics by yourself.. I wish I could do that
    quirksandoutfits.wordpress.com

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Yes you slayed the look! I haven’t tried it with peep toes yet (I think I only own one sef) but I’d try it soon since it looks this good. Yeah people who are closest to you can hurt you the most, na only God dey help us.
    wumituase.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That you took those pictures yourself is quite an interesting tip! I’m still here wondering how easy or stressful that will be. And don’t I love the color๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ And the socks idea๐Ÿ’• fabulous!

    New follower and addict you’ve got already๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

