New life

 

Hey guys…

I’m back.

How are you all doing? I took a long break from blogging and I didn’t let you guys know… I know and I’m sorry. It was all for school stuff, but next time, I’ll come up with a routine so that my blogging doesn’t affect my academics. Is it too late now to say sorry? (see what I did there? Smh)

So.. moving on…

I got into school – Bowen University – and I was quite thrilled. Now I have to edit my ‘About Me’ page and put “just got into university”.

As for my life as a bowenite… I’m surviving. Stressful, and I don’t like any form of stress, but I’ll survive. I’ve been feeling a bit out of place but I guess that’s an effect of “first time syndrome”. Don’t let anyone trick you into thinking that university is all party and dress-up games. I promise, it’s far from that.

Well, I was told that it’s formal they wear here, but so far, I’ve seen things less formal than I thought. Oh well…. I love formal wear, so I’d rock it anyway. Smart casual was still up for me.

I did a bit of a blog reform. So you may notice some changes here and there, and I deleted some posts. I also added a new page to my menu titled ‘Constellations’. It’s where I’m going to be putting my short writings in pictorial form. There’s going to be a new one every week, so make sure you check it.

 

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

For this post, I went monochrome with my mini afro. I deleted my ‘Shirts in Dresses’ post so I decided to redo it.

Don’t worry, you shall see the look, but let me be done with my ranting first.

Getting into school, I’ve faced a lot of challenges so far, the biggest being to catch up and come out with excellent grades, though I resumed late, but challenges are made to be won right? There’s always a next level, a next stage, we’d want to climb the next mountain, we’d always want to win the next battle, and we’d be scared at first. I won’t lie, I was a bit scared when I came into school, and also when it came to the exams, asking how I would do it, how I’d make it, but we bother about a lot of things that are actually possible. I decided to play my part by reading, and I left the rest to God. Just pray and read. And you’ll get to the next level and realise it wasn’t so hard, you were just over thinking it.

I’m done with thinking for now. I’m just doing. Think from today till tomorrow, until you actually get up and do something, you won’t get anywhere.

 

 

IMG_20170212_081043_hdr_edit
And the bats (those black things you see there) that fly in the sky in that school, you’d think they’re birds.i mean… aren’t they meant to be blind or something, why don’t they bump into each other while flying or trying to land on a tree? Enlighten me. And if you ain’t lucky, they’ll poop on you. it’s become part of my prayer point not to get pooped on.

 

Learning how to be very organised. Not that I wasn’t, like I spent part of my growing up in boarding school, so I’m okay with staying on my own, I actually look forward to it because you know what they say – you can take the girl out of boarding school but you can’t take the boarding school out of the girl 😉  .

Oh.. and money spending techniques. There were a few trials and errors with that one. You know you go to school to study right? That’s like your main goal but we can’t help but have these little ‘extras’, even learning how to play a sport (by the way, I’m really trying to learn how to play basketball). You know, God just had to intervene in my financial life. I mean, I got a Banking and Finance student for a room mate. ;p

 

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

So I’m going to do a sort of ‘taking stock’ with this one. No one says it must be done on the first day of the month, so I’m going to ignore that apparently non-existent rule. First of all, I’m done I will soon begin to read ‘Americanah’ by Chimamanda Adichie and then proceed to another one of her works … probably ‘ The Thing Around Your Neck’, so I can add them to my collection of ‘Adichie’s books I’ve read’ (which are just 2 by the way – ‘Purple Hibiscus’ and ‘Half Of A Yellow Sun’ – making progress ey?)

 

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Oh… here’s the look

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

 

Who likes my hair?

I decided to do a hair growth challenge. I did protective styles, moisturised, and used a lot of conditioner but it didn’t grow much. I’ll accept that I thought it’ll be like one of those you see on YouTube and after 6 months of protective styling, it grows really long. Well it wasn’t like that for me. I naturally have a very slow growth rate, so I guess it was reasonable for it to not grow so long. It isn’t magic by the way. I’ve learnt not to batter myself over it and just enjoy it. It feels healthy though and I’m okay with that. That’s a good thing.

So there’s something I’m going to say before I end this. So I was watching Legion. You know, the movie with the guy with superrrrrr superhuman powers (love the movie by the way.. it’s so confusing), and then the other guy (still don’t know his name… smh) said something –

“The fight and conquer, and all your battles is not supreme excellence. Supreme excellence consists of breaking the enemy’s resistance without fighting.”

Brilliant right? I know. And you know this story that went round at some point about a boy, whose father told him to sit down and he refused, then his father forced him down and he was like “I may be sitting now, but in my mind I’m standing up.”.

… Well I learnt something. It all goes down in the mind, every battle is either won or lost in the mind. Capisce?

Well, I think I won mine in the end.

 

You can follow me on instagram @ _pepple_  here.

And to all my new followers, Thank you for following and welcome to the blog. Hope I won’t bore you.

 

Who missed me? 😀

19 thoughts on “New life

  1. Love the look! Beautiful💖 and your hair is beautiful too, as long as it is healthy is all that matters✨ you will notice the growth in time

    Like

  2. Hey baby girl. I totally missed you here. Thank God you’re back. Indeed school isn’t as pretty as they paint it. Just do your best and hand over everything to God. Black and white will always be two favorite colours of mine. I love the shirt in dress look too. I should wear this sometime soon.
    Lifeofdammy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes you should and make sure you tag me on your looks. Thanks a lot ❤
      I left some comments on your blog, i don"t know if you saw them cos everytime I comment there, I don't see my comments. Just wanted to be sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful outfit and hair style. I really enjoy seeing young women like you going to school and working hard to achieve their goals and dreams. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

