DIY Envelope + A Guide to Fashion Designing – Sketching model/templates

 

I’m going to be sharing an easy-to-do DIY with you all. I believe if you can’t get it, make it.
I’m pursuing my fashion designing career and for now, I post on my instagram, I’ve not done my portfolio. I’m saving up money for that cos I don’t want it to be just any kind of portfolio, I want someone to see it and not just see a designer, but also an artist. Planning to put a lot of thought into it. So for now, without a portfolio, I don’t have a specific place I keep my sketches, so I decided to make an envelope. I didn’t just want any envelop, I knew going out to buy won’t give me what I want, so I made this one.
Which reminds me, I did a mini book DIY here, was my first post, so I don’t know if you all saw that.

Let’s get to it.
You’ll need gum, a wide calendar or cardboard paper (preferably a calendar), pen or pencil, a ruler, and your decorating items.
First of all, you’ll measure 1 inch on both lengths sides and on one width, and 3-4 inches on the second width. That would serve for the closure fold. i had already gone forward before deciding to make this a post.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

 

Draw a straight line across the measurements, to mark where you measured.

Fold in, using your ruler like this to make sure it’s straight.

 

Measure the inner range, like from the fold lines, to get the middle of your envelop, then fold just like this. Using your ruler first still.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

 

Cut one of the large widths’ side from the measured line.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

 

Just to make sure you’re on the right track, fold as if gummed to see if it forms an envelope.

 

 

Apply your gum to the folded part. The corners first.

 

Tada! I said preferably a calendar because of the glossy feel of the white side.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

You can use Velcro for the sealing.

 

Decorate as you please. Me I gave mine a shirt front, with a drawing at the back. I cut out the drawing and gummed on it.

 

 

It portrays fashion and art at the same time. I made the net/mat-ish design. I used a page from an old magazine and measured boxes on it.

 

mat/net design

After that, I cut out the boxes.

 

mat/net design

 

Gum on the envelop; front and back.

 

 

Cut a small pocket with the ankara material for pocket and a shirt-ish look. Paste on it and your envelop is done.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

 

So now, I have a place to store my sketches.
There’s this cool DIY blog I discovered; diyempress, do check it out, it has a lot of nice DIYs for those that are interested.

 

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

how to make your own DIY personalized envelope

 

 

So.. on to the second part of this post. I recently learnt how to sketch my designs. I’m going to share some of the templates I drew for my designs as a guide. You can download an illustrator if you prefer that. I’ll leave a list for you after this post. I actually like drawing by hand, but maybe later, I will learn how to use an illustrator. Before learning how to draw the models well, I used a method for drawing my designs cos ideas were coming in and I couldn’t just let them slide cos I didn’t know how to draw. I used the ‘oval, triangle, circle’ method. So if you’re starting from scratch, you can try this for now. You draw it like this

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Then you proceed to add the neck, hands, and legs, which might not even show after drawing. Make sure you sketch lightly.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Sketch the dress on. Put the outline for the hairstyle; don’t just dive into full-on drawing, until you’re sure of what you have.

 

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Erase what you don’t want and put what you want. For example, you want a V-neck, not what you have there, you erase and put the ‘V’. You don’t want that type of waistline, you erase and put whichever you want.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Erase the parts that are not to be seen. Draw the hair.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Outline with a black pen or marker pen, or colour marker, or you forget outlining and proceed to add colour.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Thicken your outline.

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

If you are not starting from scratch, but looking for a where to get template ideas, here’s some of mine; the basic ones.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing modelsa guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing modelsa guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing modelsa guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing modelsa guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Draw the dress, outline, colour. I’ve not coloured mine though. I like leaving them plain cos I’ll post some of them as outfit ideas and fashion sketches, and I want whoever sees them to feel free to use his/her imagination to colour, but the ones for my portfolio would be coloured.

 

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

a guide to fashion designing, fashion sketching for beginners and fashion templates, drawing models

 

Then there are pictures I use for hair ideas

 

otakusmash
http://www.otakusmash.com
pinterest
http://www.pinterest.com

 

As we go on, I’ll give more tips on drawing specific things such as drawing the hair, necklines, frills, bottoms, different gowns, and any other thing you feel needs to be touched. This is just a post for sketching generally. I’ll do more posts on this.
I hope you liked this post. Leave a comment and I’ll be sure to reply.

12 thoughts on “DIY Envelope + A Guide to Fashion Designing – Sketching model/templates

  1. I really enjoyed this post! Especially the fashion illustration. I have outfit ideas and I sometimes sketch them when I’m not feeling lazy. I don’t do the shapes method or use any outline though, I just draw the way I’ve always drawn lol. Your sketches are so gorgeous, I really like your drawing style! How did you realise you wanted to have a career in fashion illustration? How did you start?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Amaka. It’s good that you can sketch yours that way but getting a template is also good so that they can all be the same shape and you don’t start from scratch every time you want to draw.
      As for the question about how I started, I don’t know exactly when, but I’ve always been into fashion since I was like 13 and before I knew it, I started having ideas, I’d draw the clothes I wanted to sew or buy and I browsed on how to draw, started learning from scratch. I would stop here in my answer so that it’s not too long but I promise, my next post would answer this. thanks love for dropping this comment.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

