Movie Reviews 2016-2017

 

 

Grab your popcorn people… we’re talking movies

I have a lil’ bit of everything for everybody… don’t worry, I got you covered. Now these are my fave movies so far for 2016 and 2017 and I implore you all to watch them if you haven’t already.

Let’s dig in…

 

Fanpop.com
fanpop
  1. ME BEFORE YOU (2016)

I’ve watched this movie like three times now; it’s amazing and I had to download all the soundtracks in the movie from Holy Child’s ‘Happy With Me’, ‘Unsteady’ X Ambassadors, Ed Sheeran’s ‘Thinking Out Loud’ and ‘Photograph’, to Cloves’ ‘Don’t Forget About Me’, and finally, ‘Not Today’ by Imagine Dragons.

 

Fanpop.com
fanpop

The movie is about a guy – Will Traynor – who became paralyzed as a result of a bicycle accident and Lou is hired to assist him (don’t think I didn’t notice her quirky walking step.. but it’s cute.. she’s cute). She tries to stop him from going on with his initial plan of euthanasia and ends up falling in love with him. The movie ends with him dying – euthanasia – but what I love most about this movie is that it preaches the fact that the miracles don’t always happen when we want it to or the way we want it to, maybe cos it’s not God’s plan at that time. It’s realistic. One would expect a happy ending like one day the guy starts walking or something close to that. Maybe that’s not God “happy ending” for you, maybe it’s for you to find purpose in that situation. I mean, who knows? Just cos it doesn’t work out the way you want, doesn’t mean it didn’t work out. Now, what I don’t believe in is the “euthanasia part” of it. I believe that no matter what, don’t give up. Don’t let the devil win, let him not have you where he wants to. Who knows, maybe the guy’s ‘miracle’ was predestined to come days after he decided to end it all. You don’t know how close you are to your victory, or if there is even a victory for you, so you don’t give up. Apart from that, the movie is insane!!! One of my bests so far.

 

 

Mtv.co.uk
mtv.co.uk
  1. FRIEND REQUEST (2016)

I couldn’t look at my phone screen the same way again after watching this movie. It’s horror by the way 😀 . Laura, a popular college girl accepts a friend request on facebook from Marina, a loner. It seems like Marina is obsessed and Laura soon decides to unfriend her. She learns that Marina committed suicide the next day, and things go berserk from there. There are friend requests, black mirrors, unfriending, and people dying. I don’t want to spoil this one. Go check it out if you haven’t already.

 

 

Never the same.org
neverthesame.org
  1. GOD’S NOT DEAD (2016)

This is a faith/Christian movie. It’s like my best Christian movie ever. Grace, who is a history teacher, is forced to stand trial when she answers a question about Jesus from a student in her class. She is accused of coercing the young lady to believe in her faith. I love this movie because it brings to our knowledge the persecution side of being a Christian. I live in a country where you’re, to some extent, free to talk about your faith. We Nigerians are a very religious people. Persecution isn’t just when you’re tortured, like Grace, you can face media trial, lose your job, people won’t want to be seen with you much. My favorite part of this movie was when the students visited Grace and they started singing ‘Then Sings My Soul… How Great thou art’ hymn, see me singing along. It was beautiful, I felt a hundred times better after watching it. God has a way of always saving His own.

 

 

xXx-The-Return-of-Xander-Cage heyuguys.com
heyuguys
  1. xXx THE RETURN OF XANDER CAGE (2017)

I love this movie cos it’s something you can watch with your bestfriend and gush over. Like “omg is that Xander? He’s okay… not bad at all” *side eye*, “what the hell are they doing”, “I bet they have no clue”, “omg! That’s so cool”….etc.. on and on.

Afro100.com
afro100

It has funny moments and it’s action but not anything gruesome for the sensitive ones. It’s a pretty cool movie.

 

 

hidden-figures-poster joblo.com
joblo
  1. HIDDEN FIGURES (2016)

This is the ideal girl power – or should I say ‘woman power’ – movie. For those also that are looking for a bit of encouragement and self-confidence. I love the tagline; “where genius has no race, strength has no gender, and courage has no limit”.

 

Metacritic.com
metacritic

 

It’s an untold story, which is now being told of course, of three women who worked with NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) and helped in making the goal of launching Astronaut John Glenn into orbit, far back in 1961.  These women pushed beyond the bounds of racial, as well as gender segregation and discrimination, pursued their dreams and left a legacy behind because everything is possible.

 

jlmrykntrj

spdrt
history vs hollywood

 

Hidden-Figures-Cast-Speech- popsugar.com 2017-SAG-Awards
popsugar

 

Not just the women being represented in the movie – Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson and Dorothy Vaughan –, but the actresses who represent them – Janelle Monae, Taraji P. Henson, and Octavia Spencer respectively – are also women at their prime. The movie has been a success so far, winning awards, and everyone should check it out.

 

 

Dream works.com
dreamworks
  1. BOSS BABY (2017)

LAST BUT DEFINITELY NOT LEAST. I love this cartoon (who says you can’t still watch cartoons?). When the liberties of a young warlock – 7-year old Tim (okay…okay… he isn’t a warlock, just a little kid. But for the dramatic effect though) – are threatened by the arrival of a new, but strange baby, things take a different turn. We are taken into an imaginative world of where babies come from. The boss baby arrives in a suit and carrying a briefcase… strange right? He is discovered later by Tim to be on a secret mission.

 

I hope you enjoyed this.. guys. Have you seen these movies yet? Is there any you’d like to share with me? Whatever it is at all, don’t go without leaving a comment.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Movie Reviews 2016-2017

  1. Let me start by saying I absolutely hated Me Before You. You can’t love someone and not fight everyday to be the best you can for them. It felt like nothing she could ever do would have been enough to save him. The pain in my chest was so really. Never again.

    Xander…I just didn’t want to deal with Vin Desiel… I love him but..

    Not seen Friend request or God is Not Dead but ide replace that with Hacksaw Ridge. The best Christian movie in a while.

    Hidden Figures was awesome! Love all that girl power.

    Great list…I think I might make one too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right? At first I was mad at the guy for sticking to his decision. And Lou was just trying to help. But later, I began to understand the other parts of it. Like the ones I stated; things don’t always end up the way you want. But that’s life I guess. Apart from that, it was pretty okay.
      And I have got to see this ‘Hacksaw Ridge’ since its your best. I might even include it in my next review post. Thanks for the suggestion.
      High five on ‘Hidden Figures’!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah.. for me too. I expected some kind of “happy ending” for the movie. But I guess it’s about finding happiness in your ending.
      Boss baby was so cool. I’m not particularly about watching cartoons but I had to see this one.
      Thanks dear for leaving this comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMGGGG!!!!!! You’re officially one of my fav rn. You have the same taste as me 😭😭😭😭 I’m crying, Me before youuuuuu😭😭😭💖💖💖💖 my bestest movie.

    Boss baby!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m in love with the producers for the beautiful movie, so hilarious. Hidden figures, they killed it.

    So far my time hasn’t been wasted reading this post.

    Please let me come and be enjoying other posts.

    Go girl🎈

    Like

Leave a Reply

